Infosheet: Togo at 60

On the occasion of the Africa 2020 year, the ASCL has created Infosheets about the countries that became independent in 1960. Of the seventeen colonies gaining independence in that year, Togo was the second one: on April 27th. Togo had been a German colony from 1884 until the First World War. In 1919, it was divided into French and British Togo on behalf of, first, the League of Nations and, later, the United Nations. This situation endured until 1960, when part of western Togo joined Ghana (that had already been independent since 1957), and the major part became the Republic of Togo.

Read the Infosheet.

This is ASC Infosheet 36. See the other Infosheets.

Author(s) / editor(s)

Ton Dietz, David Ehrhardt, Fenneken Veldkamp