Infosheet: Tanzania at 60

On the occasion of the Africa 2020 year, the ASCL created Infosheets about the countries that became independent in 1960. One year later, Tanzania was the second in line (after Sierra Leone): it became politically independent as Tanganyika on 9 December 1961. In 1963 also Zanzibar became independent and in 1964 the two independent areas became the United Republic of Tanzania. Read about the country's recent history, its demographic, social-economic and agricultural developments and regional inequality.

Read the Infosheet (pdf).

This is ASC Infosheet 52. Read the other Infosheets.

Author(s) / editor(s)

Ton Dietz and David Ehrhardt