Infosheet: Somalia at 60

On the occasion of the Africa 2020 year, the ASCL has created Infosheets about the countries that became independent in 1960. Of the seventeen colonies gaining independence in that year, Somalia was the fourth one: on 26 June former British Somaliland became independent, followed by Italian Somaliland on 1 July, immediately forming the Republic of Somalia. Also read about the Somali Day (postponed unitl a later date).

Read the Infosheet.

This is ASC Infosheet 35. See the other Infosheets.

Author(s) / editor(s)

Ton Dietz, David Ehrhardt, Fenneken Veldkamp