Infosheet: Republic of the Congo at 60

On the occasion of the Africa 2020 year, the ASCL has created Infosheets about the countries that became independent in 1960. Of the seventeen colonies gaining independence in that year, Republic of the Congo (‘Congo-Brazzaville’) was the thirteenth one: on August 15. Congo had been a French colony from 1880 onwards, first as French Congo, and from 1903 onwards as Middle Congo. In 1908 it became part of French Equatorial Africa.

Read the Infosheet (pdf).

This is ASC Infosheet 48. Read the other Infosheets.

Author(s) / editor(s)

Ton Dietz, David Ehrhardt, Fenneken Veldkamp