Infosheet: Niger at 60

On the occasion of the Africa 2020 year, the ASCL has created Infosheets about the countries that became independent in 1960. Of the seventeen colonies gaining independence in that year, Niger was the eighth one: on August 3. Niger had been a French colony from 1922 onwards, as part of French West Africa, but it was part of ‘Sénégambie et Niger’ between 1902 and 1904 and ‘Haute Sénégal et Niger’ between 1904 and 1922.

Read the Infosheet.

This is ASC Infosheet 41. Read the other Infosheets.

Author(s) / editor(s)

Ton Dietz, David Ehrhardt, Fenneken Veldkamp