Infosheet: Mauritania at 60

On the occasion of the Africa 2020 year, the ASCL has created Infosheets about the countries that became independent in 1960. Of the seventeen colonies gaining independence in that year, Mauritania was the last one, on November 28th. Mauritania had been a French protectorate and later a colony from 1920 onwards, as part of French West Africa.

Read the Infosheet

This is ASC Infosheet 50. Read the other Infosheets.

Author(s) / editor(s)

Ton Dietz, David Ehrhardt, Fenneken Veldkamp