Infosheet: Gabon at 60

On the occasion of the Africa 2020 year, the ASCL has created Infosheets about the countries that became independent in 1960. Of the seventeen colonies gaining independence in that year, Gabon was the fourteenth one: on August 17. Gabon had been a French protectorate from 1862 onwards, and became part of French Congo as a colony in 1888. In 1904 it became a separate French colony. In 1910 it became part of French Equatorial Africa. During the Second World War it was part of the area of the Free French under General De Gaulle.

Read the Infosheet.

This is ASC Infosheet 46. See the other Infosheets.

Author(s) / editor(s)

Ton Dietz, David Ehrhardt, Fenneken Veldkamp