Infosheet: Democratic Republic of the Congo at 60

On the occasion of the Africa 2020 year, the ASCL has created Infosheets about the countries that became independent in 1960. Of the seventeen colonies gaining independence in that year, Congo (earlier known as Zaire, nowadays called the Democratic Republic of the Congo) was the fifth one: on 30 June. Congo had been a Belgian colony from 1908 until 1960, after having been a ‘Free State’ under a company owned by the Belgian King Leopold II from 1884.

Read the Infosheet.

This is ASCL Infosheet 39. Read the other Infosheets.

Author(s) / editor(s)

Ton Dietz, David Ehrhardt, Fenneken Veldkamp