Infosheet: Benin at 60

On the occasion of the Africa 2020 year, the ASCL has created Infosheets about the countries that became independent in 1960. Of the seventeen colonies gaining independence in that year, Benin (earlier known as Dahomey) was the seventh one: on 1 August. Benin/Dahomey had been a French colony from 1894 onwards, as part of French West Africa.

Read the Infosheet.

This is ASCL Infosheet 40. Read the other Infosheets.

Author(s) / editor(s)

Ton Dietz, David Ehrhardt, Fenneken Veldkamp